History

A moment's reflection on the history of the Firm is a moment well spent, because our origins resonate with the same spirit that still prevails in our firm.The principles guiding the way we counsel our clients - reliability, competence, and resourcefulness - permeate our legal work as well. Openness and an interest in cultural issues infuse our work, creating an intellectual climate that supports innovative and efficient solutions for the mandates entrusted to us.

emil blum

Emil Blum

Records first mention the Blum family in Koblenz on the Rhine river and its shipping activities in 1590. Emil Blum, born in 1847, was unable to continue the familys long tradition because the introduction of free trade and commerce under the new Federal Constitution abolished all transportation monopolies. The railroad also contributed to the demise of shipping on the Rhine. So Emil Blum decided to pursue a technical career and earned his degree in mechanical engineering from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) in Zürich. He later worked as a design engineer for over 10 years, at home and abroad.

Finally settling in Zürich, he opened an engineering office for factory equipment in 1878. He quickly gained a reputation as a specialist in patent issues. Engineer Moritz Veith became a partner in 1883, and the name of the firm was changed to E. Blum & Co. Emil Blum was deeply committed to establishing patent law provisions with nationwide validity. After two draft bills were rejected, his efforts finally culminated in success with the ratification of a constitutional clause in 1887. The skills Emil Blum acquired over the years in this battle to achieve effective protection for inventions soon gained international recognition for his company, and patent matters became its most important practice area. Emil Blum was instrumental in the formation of the Association of Swiss Patent Attorneys and actively involved in the International Association for the Protection of Industrial Property (AIPPI).

eugen blum

Eugen Blum

Emil's son Eugen Blum, who had joined the firm in 1911, took over the helm after his fathers death in 1929. Again wholly owned by the Blum family, the office employed 27 persons at that time and was the undisputed leader among patent firms in Switzerland, accounting for 15 % of all patents issued. Eugen Blum undertook to rebuild the AIPPI which had faltered during World War I. He was its general secretary from 1925 to 1961. Under his dynamic leadership, the organization expanded to play a decisive role in patent legislation. The reactivation of the AIPPI was also his accomplishment. He was permanent secretary of this organization until 1961.

During both world wars, the need for neutral representation of client interest in opposing countries grew considerably. Patents from countries in conflict were often sequestered during the wars, so the law firm was frequently involved in resolving such issues within the scope of peace treaties.

rudolf e blum

Rudolf E. Blum

Dr. Rudolf Blum, the third generation, joined the management of the firm in 1948, which he shared with his father until 1959. At that time, the office employed 55 people. Like his father, Rudolf Blum published numerous works. Perhaps his most important one is "The Swiss Patent Law", a commentary on the 1954 federal law that he co-authored with Prof. Mario Pedrazzini.

He also took on extensive responsibilities of a voluntary nature, serving as president of the Association of Swiss Patent Attorneys, as general secretary as well as honorary president of the AIPPI, and as a judge at the Cantonal Commercial Court of Zürich. Under his guidance, the firm expanded to include an independent law division. The firms steady growth demanded a broader leadership structure. The former two-person management team was expanded in 1972.

urs blum 000

Urs Blum

In 1995 Dr. Urs Blum was appointed to the management board. Dr. Urs Blum had previously implemented a fully computer -based infrastructure in the firm, making E. Blum & Co. one of the first patent and trademark attorney firms in Switzerland to do so. He also held office as president of the Association of Swiss Patent and Trademark Attorneys. In 2006, he retired from the firm as attorney and partner.

In 2006, the patent and trademark attorney firm changes its legal form and henceforth continues its activities as E. Blum & Co. AG. Simultaneously, the owners Dr. Rudolf E. Blum and Eleonore Blum decide to transfer their holdings in the firm to the firm’s management members. Accordingly, Dr. Regula Rüedi, René Monsch, Rainer Schalch and Dr. Kurt Sutter, all senior members of the firm and members of the Board of Management, acquire E. Blum & Co. AG and manage the company as partners, as well as forming the firm’s Board of Directors. They are joined in 2007 by Brendan Bolli, also a senior partner and member of the firm’s existing Board of Management, as co-owner.

In 2009, the E. Blum & Co. AG acquires and integrates the specialised trademark attorney firm Meyer Marks AG. The latter’s Director, Mathias Meyer, joins the firm as a further co-owner and member of the Board of Management and Board of Directors. This development is a further important step in the course of the firm’s efforts to continuously increase the efficiency and maintain the high quality of its trademark services.  

In 2014, René Monsch retires from the Board of Management and is succeeded by Martin Toleti.

In 2019, following the retirement of Rainer Schalch, Dr. Siegfried Grimm joins the Board of Management.

Today, E. Blum & Co. AG is one of the largest and most reputable patent and trademark attorney firms of Switzerland.

Geschichte

Ein kurzer Blick in die Chronik der Firma ist lohnenswert, denn sie widerspiegelt den Unternehmergeist, der auch heute unsere Kanzlei prägt. Solidität, Perfektion und Erfindungsreichtum auch in der anwaltlichen Tätigkeit sind die Prämissen, nach denen wir unsere Kunden betreuen. Offenheit und kulturelles Interesse begleiten unsere Arbeit und schaffen das geistige Umfeld für die unvoreingenommene und effiziente Lösung der uns anvertrauten Aufgaben.

emil blum

Emil Blum

1878 eröffnete Emil Blum in Zürich ein technisches Büro für Fabrikeinrichtungen. Rasch gewann er den Ruf eines Spezialisten in Patentfragen. 1883 stiess Ingenieur Moritz Veith als Teilhaber hinzu, und die Firmenbezeichnung wurde in E. Blum & Co. geändert. Mit grossem Engagement setzte sich Emil Blum für die Schaffung gesamtschweizerischer Patentbestimmungen ein. Der beschwerliche Weg führte über zwei verworfene Gesetzesvorlagen mit der Schaffung eines entsprechenden Verfassungsartikels 1887 schliesslich zum Erfolg. Das Rüstzeug, das sich Emil Blum in jahrelangem Kampf um einen wirksamen Erfindungsschutz erworben hatte, brachte ihm und seinem Büro bald internationales Ansehen. Die Patentvermittlung wurde rasch zum wichtigsten Geschäftszweig. Emil Blum erwies sich auch als treibende Kraft zur Gründung des Verbandes Schweizerischer Patentanwälte (VSP) und betätigte sich in der Internationalen Vereinigung für den Schutz geistigen Eigentums (AIPPI).

 

eugen blum

Eugen Blum

Sohn Eugen Blum, seit 1911 im Betrieb, übernahm 1929 nach dem Tode seines Vaters die inzwischen wieder voll im Familienbesitz befindliche Kanzlei mit einem Personalbestand von 27 Personen. Mit einem Anteil von 15% aller Patenterteilungen war sie die mit Abstand führende Patentkanzlei der Schweiz. Eugen Blum hatte den Wiederaufbau der im Ersten Weltkrieg lahmgelegten AIPPI an die Hand genommen und war von 1925 bis 1961 deren Generalsekretär. Durch seine Dynamik nahm die Organisation einen derartigen Aufschwung, dass sie die Rechtslegung auf diesem Gebiet massgeblich beeinflusste. Auch die Reaktivierung des internationalen Patentanwaltsverbandes war sein Verdienst. Er bekleidete den Posten des permanenten Sekretärs bis 1961.

Während beider Weltkriege nahm die neutrale Vertretung der Kundeninteressen in gegnerischen Ländern einen bedeutenden Umfang an. Da während der Kriege oft Patente aus Gegnerländern sequestriert wurden, wirkte die Kanzlei vielfach bei der Regelung solcher Fälle in Friedensverträgen mit.

rudolf e blum

Rudolf E. Blum

1948 trat mit Dr. Rudolf Blum die dritte Generation in die Geschäftsleitung ein, die er mit seinem Vater bis 1959 teilte. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt beschäftigte die Kanzlei rund 55 Mitarbeiter. Wie sein Vater entfaltete Rudolf Blum eine reiche publizistische Tätigkeit. Sein wohl bedeutendstes Werk ist "Das schweizerische Patentrecht".
Diesen Kommentar zum 1954 erlassenen Bundesgesetz verfasste er zusammen mit Prof. Mario Pedrazzini. Ebenfalls stellte er sich für zahlreiche ehrenamtliche Funktionen zur Verfügung und war unter anderem Präsident des Verbandes Schweizerischer Patentanwälte (VSP) und Generalsekretär, Ehrenpräsident der AIPPI, sowie Handelsrichter beim Handelsgericht des Kantons Zürich.

Unter seiner Leitung wurde die Kanzlei um eine eigenständige Rechtsabteilung erweitert. Das stetige Wachstum der Kanzlei rief 1972 nach einer breiteren Führungsstruktur. Die bisherige Geschäftsführung wurde erweitert.

urs blum 000

Urs Blum

1995 stieg sein Sohn Dr. Urs Blum in die Geschäftsleitung auf. Dr. Urs Blum führte schon als einer der Ersten in einer Patent- und Markenanwaltskanzlei in der Schweiz die elektronische Datenverarbeitung ein. Auch er war Präsident des Verbandes der Schweizerischen Patent- und Markenanwälte. Er zog sich im Jahre 2006 als Partner aus der Kanzlei zurück und trat in den Ruhestand.

2006 wird die Patent- und Markenanwaltskanzlei in die Aktiengesellschaft E. Blum & Co. AG umgewandelt. Mit der Rechtsformänderung beschliessen die bisherigen Inhaber, Dr. Rudolf E. Blum und Frau Eleonore Blum, die Inhaberschaft der Kanzlei in die Hände von Mitgliedern der bestehenden Geschäftsleitung zu legen. Dr. Regula Rüedi, René Monsch, Rainer Schalch und Dr. Kurt Sutter, langjährige Mitarbeiter der Kanzlei und Mitglieder der bestehenden Geschäftsleitung erwerben die E. Blum & Co. AG und leiten das Unternehmen partnerschaftlich. Sie bilden auch den Verwaltungsrat der E. Blum & Co. AG. 2007 stösst Brendan Bolli, ebenfalls langjähriger Partner und Mitglied der bestehenden Geschäftsleitung, als Teilhaber hinzu.

2009 wird die auf Markenrecht spezialisierte Kanzlei Meyer Marks AG übernommen und in die E. Blum & Co. AG integriert. Ihr bisheriger Geschäftsführer, Mathias Meyer, tritt als Teilhaber in das Unternehmen ein. Er übernimmt darin Verantwortung als Verwaltungsrat und Geschäftsleitungsmitglied. Der Übergang der Meyer Marks AG und der Eintritt von deren bisherigen Geschäftsführers, Mathias Meyer, in die E. Blum & Co. AG ist ein weiterer Schritt zur Effizienzsteigerung und Sicherstellung der hohen Qualität im Markenrecht.

Im Jahre 2014 wird der Verwaltungsrat nach dem altershalben Austritt von René Monsch durch Martin Toleti ergänzt.

Heute gehört die Firma zu den grössten und bekanntesten Patent- und Markenanwaltskanzleien der Schweiz.